3-4 defense

Discussion in 'Thread Archive' started by tbishop82, Jan 12, 2012.

1. tbishop82

tbishop82 Walk On

It's my first time running the 3-4 defense and I actually like it. Problem is that the good CPU teams are running and throwing all over me. I gave up almost 700 yards of offense to Aubie. I went conservative on the big hits and ball strip and they still broke tackles. Auburn used a lot of 3 receiver sets so I spent most of the time in nickel (3-3-5 and regular 4 man front). Usually a 2 deep zone with man underneath or a straight 2 or 3 deep zone. They were balanced running and throwing out of this set. Which do you guys use more against the 3 WR sets? 3-3-5 or 4-2-5?

2. KnightNoles

KnightNoles Learn to Compete

tbishop82

I am assuming you are using Georgia, what year are you in?

I mean 3 WR you could still be in base 3-4 :eek: lean towards a 3-3-5 though

3. tbishop82

tbishop82 Walk On

True, although I never do stay in base (guess I automatically go to nickel out of habit). This is season 5 of dynasty, but year 1 for me.

4. KnightNoles

KnightNoles Learn to Compete

yea, it just depends on down and yardage if you would stay in that base.. How well do you trust your LBs to man cover that one slot and HBs, and you can always zone blitz out of the base

5. tbishop82

tbishop82 Walk On

okay thanks, I think I've had a lot of success defensively against average teams, but when I play good ones I'm giving up a ton of big plays.

6. bdub

bdub Walk On

I run and stay in 4-3 until they go to 4 wide then I drop into nickel. The key to stopping the CPU is pressure. If you can count to 4 after the snap and not get the QB they will find someone. So man up and blitz them a lot, and alternate that with cover 2 zone. Basically you need to come after them hard and often. You will get beat over the top sometimes but they will complete less passes and as a side effect you will completely shutdown their run game with your blitzes.