4-3 vs 3-4

Discussion in 'TMFL' started by Danthraxxx, Oct 1, 2013.

1. Danthraxxx

Danthraxxx Walk On

What defensive scheme do you run with your team ?

What do you feel like its strengths are ? What are the weaknesses you have noticed ?

What type of player do you need next season to be better ?

Looking to get some input from our league members , maybe share some thoughts so we can all play some better defense and stop seeing 42-35 games.

2. dakota7

dakota7 Former Blue Chip Recruit

Before getting the Packers last year in TLY, I was always a bend but don't break 4-3 guy. A lot of zone, not very much blitzing....trying to let my opponent make a mistake. When I started playing as the Packers, I ran the 3-4 and loved it. A lot of different ways to bring pressure, usually in ways that you can disguise. Not sure if my opponents feel that way, but that's the goal... ;)

The strength and weakness of the 3-4, IMO, is the same thing. If the front 3 can shed blocks and clog the run, the defense is really tough to play against. But if the big guys can't get off blocks, its gonna be a long day.

I need another big play inside linebacker and a nose tackle to replace Ryan Pickett, who is getting old.

• Like Like x 1
  3. biggcoug65

biggcoug65 49er for Life

Team: 49ers
    Scheme: 3-4 base
    Strengths: Run stopping
    Weakness: pass rushing

Next season, I need my Safeties to improve in pass coverage and a NT to control the middle of the line

• Like Like x 1
  4. MoonBBad

MoonBBad http://twitch.tv/moonbbad

Team: Redskins
    Scheme: 3-4 base
    Strengths: Front 7
    Weaknesses: Secondary