Discussion in 'The Dirty Dozen' started by DirtycashDylan, Aug 5, 2012.
That's the Rivals national free board, I'm not sure why the link says oklahoma except that I'm obviously a member there.
If the thrower's arm is moving forward when the ball is dislodged, it is an incomplete pass regardless of which way the ball goes. The only time direction of the ball is a factor is if the thrower intentionally throws the ball backwards.
You're still hung up on this?
And I read all the posts, you didn't get a definitive answer, and had more people agree with me.
There's a lot of dumb in that thread. Just sayin. I don't know who said what, but as far as a disagreement between fumble/incomplete, my post is an authoritative answer.
Not hung up, you're just dumb and I want you to know it.
err...I don't know where you got that. Most of them couldn't even figure out what I was talking about or didn't have an opinion.
Or is it possible that you're just really butt-hurt that the fumble recovery touchdown cost you the game?
Dude, it has nothing to do with the game, it has to do with our discussion after the game, about a rule. You asked for proof so I asked that football message board last night and posted what they said today. As far as in-game goes, who cares? It's just an animation. I was talking about real football and you strongly disagreed with me, so there ya have it.
I was talking about what happened in the game, so there ya have it.
No, we were talking about the rule as it pertains to real life. You said, IRL, when a QB gets hit in the act of throwing, if the ball goes backwards it's a fumble. We had a pretty heated discussion about it. You asked me if I had ever watched football before, lol. Now, just admit you were wrong.
No. Why should I? Nothing in that thread you linked to shows me I was wrong.
So you're still sold you're right?
I'm sold that when the QB releases the football and it goes backwards it's a fumble, outside of the tuck rule or whatever you call it when the ball goes straight to the ground. If he makes a throwing motion and the ball goes backwards, it is a fumble.
You are 100% wrong.
All I've been asking for is video evidence of a QB throwing a ball backwards and it getting called incomplete. I will gladly admit I'm wrong when I see it.
In a similar situation, to see if a receiver makes a catch in-bounds, the first thing they look at is when he actually possesses the ball, then they look at his feet. When a situation happens like we had, they first look at the QB's arm and if it was moving forward. Once it starts moving forward, it's a pass and can only be intercepted. Defenders are gonna jump on it regardless.
My QB didn't THROW the ball backwards, though.
and the ball went almost straight into the air and just slightly backwards.
He did. My defender hit your QB, but not the ball. Nothing hit the ball from the time your QB's arm went backward until it hit the ground.
You're making shit up. I watched the replay repeatedly from multiple angles. You didn't even replay it.
Like I said, this is an argument separate from the game. You beat me by more than 7 anyway.
I did replay it. Several times actually. The screengrab I was trying to take from the game was from that play. Fuck off.
You told me very quickly after we finished the game that it was frozen. That play was in the 4th quarter...
Separate names with a comma.