Conference Championships

Discussion in 'Thread Archive' started by sawemoff, Feb 8, 2012.

1. sawemoff

sawemoff #FearTheBeard

This is my first time doing something like this so take it easy on the criticism. lol

ACC Championship Game
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Last year the Tigers were able to hold off a last quarter surge made by the Cavaliers, and won 38-36. This year they meet again in the ACC Championship game and Virginia looks to get some revenge. This game has some big implications because this could determine who goes to the national championship. Virginia is currently ranked #3 right behind Oregon, and Clemson is ranked #5 right behind LSU, Virginia, and Oregon. It would be easier to say that if Virginia wins they would able to jump over Oregon since they are playing a top 5 opponent, but it would be really hard for the Tigers to make a case since they have two loses. Virginia has stayed perfect by getting key victories over LSU, last year’s ACC Champion North Carolina, and in state rival Virginia Tech. Clemson fell to Iowa and North Carolina but managed to defeat Alabama, Wisconsin, and in state rival South Carolina.​
    Key Match-ups:
    Virginia’s WRs vs Clemson’s Secondary​
    Virginia’s OTs vs Clemson’s DEs​
    Virginia’s DL vs Clemson’s OL​

Impact Players & Stats:
    VIRGINIA
    Player Name Postion Stats
    David Watford QB 3174 passing yards, 24 TDs, 24 INTs
    Phillip Mitchell WR 980 receiving yards. 12 TDs
    Kasey Shelton DE 22 tackles, 10 tackle for loss, 6 sacks
    Marco Jones DT 24 tackles, 12 tackle for loss, 8 sacks

CLEMSON
    Tony McNeal QB 2035 total yards, 19 total TDs, 9 INTs
    Charone Peake WR 1520 total yards, 8 total TDs
    Freddie Hackett FS 69 tackles, 6 forced fumbles
    Jonathan Miller DT 18 tackles, 13 tackle for loss, 9 sacks

PREDICTION: