Gameplay question about the 4-4 defense...

Discussion in 'The Deuce' started by OMlawdog, Aug 14, 2012.

1. OMlawdog

OMlawdog Going full Cheeze

In my game against Mustang last night he mentioned that the 4-4 defense isn't a sim defense and I wanted to get some feedback on this because I run it a decent bit against two TE and and I formation sets.

Sim? Unsim?

2. Jmustang1968

Jmustang1968 Walk On

I didnt say it wasn't sim on its own, used in the right down and distance and game situation. I said it wasn't supposed to be used as the primarily run base defense...

3. Bondzai

Bondzai Your Mom's Best Friend

I would agree that it shouldn't be a primary defense, but can be used.

4. OMlawdog

I understand, I didn't think you were calling me a cheater. That is Shaun Mason area. I enjoyed our game last night and I just don't want their to be a problem in the future. Ive been running 4-4 sets against run based sets for several years. Im 90% sure I ran the same 4-4 against Houston last season, but at the end of the day I don't want there to be an issue.

5. Shaun Mason

Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

Featured Threads:
    There is nothing wrong with the 4-4. It is a run defense.

If you come out in TE heavy packages there is no reason the defense shouldn't be able to go heavy and adjust, IMO.

6. Jmustang1968

Jmustang1968 Walk On

You didnt use it as much in the last game to take notice. In this game it was used from the first play throughout the game. It offers the advantages of running the safety up to the line, but doesnt quite sacrifice the pass defense like it should. Last year you mixed 4-3 and 4-4 and mostly used 4-4 in obvious run situations. This one it was 4-4 almost the entire game unless I went multiple WR and you matched with nickel or 3-2-6, or if it was 3rd and 5+ and I went base, you were then in 4-3

7. Jmustang1968

Jmustang1968 Walk On