homebrew thread

Discussion in 'The Cheap Seats' started by Eyeke, Apr 23, 2011.

1. Eyeke

Eyeke Swashbuckler

I didn't want to hijack the beer thread but searched for a thread in regards to this and didn't see one. I'm curious how many of you guys do homebrewing. Right now I'm specifically interested in anyone who homebrews Mead.

I've been homebrewing for 8 years now, I've made 20 batches of various beers but mainly light beers, red and white wines and various fruit wines from local orchards including peach, plum and last fall I made a batch of dandelion wine that was AMAZING (Yes, I picked enough dandelions to make a batch)

I'm wanting to start a batch of mead in June when the farmers market opens and I'm curious if anyone has any tips. I made some in 2008 that I'm still enjoying. It has aged to be drinkable but it's still too sweet at the start and then kicks your ass on the back. I'm looking for something that doesn't seem like you're squirting honey in your mouth then chasing it with whiskey.

Post your homebrew success/failures and any mead ideas you have please. If anyone has questions about getting into this I'd love to help there too. It's the best hobby I ever picked up. Thanks in advance

2. KnightNoles

KnightNoles Learn to Compete

3. hammerhead1010

hammerhead1010 Walk On

I will be watching this thread, as I've been wanting to venture into home brewing for a while now.

4. Eyeke

Eyeke Swashbuckler

Nice
    I recommend finding your local provider of supplies and seeing if they have classes. You can spend 20 minutes in there and tell if the people are there for a job or for a love of brewing. my local place is The Beer Nut and everyone there would kill their mother before giving up their passion. Usually community colleges will offer a "Lifelong Learning" type class or something to get you started.