Initial Custom Playbook Thoughts/Observations/Experiences

Discussion in 'Hard Knocks' started by SteamboatReb, Dec 10, 2015.

1. SteamboatReb

SteamboatReb Walk On

How far along is everyone in developing custon playbooks? Anyone labbing yet?

I played a couple of lobby games and done some non-franchise practice and have taken a few things from the expereince thus far.....and, I will qualify this by saying that this is my first custom playbook experience...total noob tuber.

1. I am absolutely lost in my offensive playbook...which is to be expected a bit at first, I suppose. I got a little away from uagrad90 's suggestion of building from an existing playbook and will be starting from scratch soon. I can see myself keeping my current playbook (Miami) and maybe adding one new formation (3-4 sets) and a few additonal sets for existing formations.

2. I love the custom defensive playbook. I now have a full service 3-4 scheme and a couple of Dime and Nickel sets that I like. Whether or not I am "better" because of the expanded playbook, time will tell. I do feel a bit more confident at this point.

3. I have found myself assessing personnel and entertaining thoughts of attempting trying to roster players to man a change of pace offense, and I do not think that I can pull it off (especially offensively). The phrase "jack of all trades, master of none" comes to mind.

4. The most liberating thing about the custom offensive playbook....removing the useless plays (or at least thinning the herd of the overly redundant ones). You know the ones....WR screens, draws, slot option, shovel pass. Maybe some people can effectively run these plays....but they are above my skill level. Also moving forward with none of the cheese or limited money plays. Not a single FB dive will remain in my playbook and trying to limit the drag/mesh plays so as not to find myself using them too often.