Is this a Touchdown?

Discussion in 'After Midnight' started by gowazzucougs, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. gowazzucougs

    gowazzucougs WSU is better than UCLA

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,260
    With seconds remaining, WSU is driving in the snow with no time outs left. The redshirt freshman Connor Halliday throws a pass to Marquess Wilson the crowd believes it is a touchdown, but the guys in the black and white shirts. Folks, this picture sums up PAC-12 officiating.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    can't see the ball and the camera angle is not directly on the goalline. Still inconclusive imo
     
  3. recchem2000

    recchem2000 UCLA > WSU

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Whats all that white shit all over the field :D
     
  4. gowazzucougs

    gowazzucougs WSU is better than UCLA

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,260
    It is cocaine, what other white substance could it be? WSU has a lot of money to spend on decorating the field.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. recchem2000

    recchem2000 UCLA > WSU

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Thats what I thought...thats why they didnt call it a TD. Those Refs were so HIGH they didnt know what was going on :p
     
  6. Jayrah

    Jayrah AllCougdUp.com Editor - A.M. avatar Guru

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Its absolutely a td. The pic won't tell you but a full replay would.
     
  7. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    then post a full replay ;)
     
  8. JerzeyReign

    JerzeyReign #BeatOhio

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,893
    @ the 45:07 mark -- to me it looked like a TD but it was a bang bang play that should of at least been reviewed. I guess the refs didn't want the offense time to line up or get their FG unit on the field during the review or something.

     
  9. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    I think no TD
     
  10. whygodwhy1111

    whygodwhy1111 Walk On

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,589
    There seems to be some online debate about the whether the ball needs to cross the plane if the receiver is in the endzone when he makes a catch. I can not find a definitive answer. Its certainly possible for a QB to throw the ball around the pylon such that it never crosses the goal line in the air. There was a ravens vs Pittsburgh game where they reviewed whether the catch was a TD or down inside the 1 and it got ruled a TD on instant replay because the WR possessed the ball with 2 feet in the endzone. But this may have just been an oddly worded explanation by the official.
     
  11. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    i'm betting on the latter. the ball has to cross the plane. I'm 100% certain.

    The reason being is that when down, the ball is spotted from where the ball is - not the feet. So the feet have no bearing as to the forward position of the ball
     
  12. Dru50

    Dru50 Still Chicago's #1 son

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16,269
    I agree with Cheez on this - I'm nearly 100% certain that the ball has to cross the goal line. I could swear this happened this year in one of the Bears games - where a WR caught the ball and appeared to be in the end zone but on replay it was determined that his upper body (and therefore the ball) never crossed the plane because while his feet were in the end zone he had to lean back into the field of play to make the catch.
     
  13. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    The official rule of a touchdown:

    when any part of the ball, legally in possession of a player in bounds, breaks the plane of the opponents goal line, provided it is not a touchback.
     
  14. whygodwhy1111

    whygodwhy1111 Walk On

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,589
    I was under the impression the goal line plane only goes from pylon to pylon. Which is why you can not dive for a TD out side of the pylon. Also you can not put an empty hand inside the endzone with the ball still outside the endzone( or maybe you can, I am assuming). This is of course bypassed when you catch a pass where the ball is out of bounds but you are inbounds. Which would be why you would not need to have the ball break the plane if you made a catch with possession in the endzone.
     
  15. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    What? The plane does only extend from pylon to pylon. The plane extends vertically into the sky though, so a ball thrown into the endzone, will cross the plane. Then provided that it is caught legally by a receiver, it is a TD
     
  16. whygodwhy1111

    whygodwhy1111 Walk On

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,589

    if a qb throws the ball from the sidelines they can make a TD without having the ball cross the goaline.
     
  17. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    but the ball is still beyond the goal line when a legal catch is made - ergo the plane has been crossed.
     
  18. whygodwhy1111

    whygodwhy1111 Walk On

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,589
    but you just said the plane only goes from pylon to pylon, if the ball goes around the pylons it did not cross the plane
     
  19. recchem2000

    recchem2000 UCLA > WSU

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    it can't go around the pylons. this isn't a nerf ball we're throwing here. The ball is going to follow a relatively straight arc. it does not follow a 45 degree loop
     
  21. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    please tell me you banged your head in the designated area recchem. that would make my day.
     
  22. recchem2000

    recchem2000 UCLA > WSU

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    Yes, I have the blood to prove it....now stop talking about the damn plane already, jesus. Arguing for arguments sake! Where is our resident lawyer anyways, he gets paid to make lame arguments like this :D
     
  23. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    im not arguing. he's arguing.
     
  24. recchem2000

    recchem2000 UCLA > WSU

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,534
    It takes 2 to argue otherwise your just yelling at a wall...like me with too many IPA's in my system!
     
  25. Cheez

    Cheez TSO's 1,000,000th Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8,933
    no, the difference there is that you were yelling at the cat that you think you saw.

    and besides, whygod is arguing - i'm just rebutting
     

Share This Page