Just ordered a copy of Forza 3. Any tips on a good racing wheel?

Discussion in 'Tradition Racing' started by ociu, Jun 4, 2010.

1. ociu

ociu Hoosier for Life.

Just ordered a copy of Forza 3. Any tips on a good racing wheel?

I'm on a serious (college) budget, and I want to get a decent wheel for prett cheap. Any tips?

Hoping to get to where I could race against you guys eventually. As it stands right now, my last experience with racing games was one of the Gran Turismo games for my PS1, so I'm a bit behind.

2. jms493

jms493 Veteran Member

3. Basis4aDay56

Basis4aDay56 Walk On

Only the official XBOX racing wheel works with the XBOX. Micro$oft.

4. Ca$ino

Ca$ino You're Killing Me Smalls

when i picture using the nerd wheel, i cant see having better control over the brake and throttle vs the controller. my fingers are more precise than my feet

5. ociu

ociu Hoosier for Life.

Right on. I've never used one before, but I know some people swear by them, so I wanted to see if that was a good option or not.

Thanks for the tips.

6. Basis4aDay56

Basis4aDay56 Walk On

I wonder if some people wish they had the wheel, and that's why they are hating on it? If I felt like throwing that kind of money down on something that I would only use for 1 game, I would definitely get the wheel. I'm sure it would be/would make forza more fun than it already is.

It's just too damn expensive for something that would only be used for 1 game. I have a wheel for my PC and wish it worked for the XBOX.

7. Hellisan

Hellisan Schemin 'em up

I have used the wheel and IMO it is not more effective than a controller. In rare instances where you need really fine control, it is helpful, but overall it requires much more moevment to achieve the same result as a controller... Let's face it if a game was developed FOR a wheel then the controller would be inferior but this one appears to be developed for the controller and adaptable to a wheel.

8. DelZaster

DelZaster Walk On