OOTP Player Development

Discussion in 'The Dugout - OOTP Online League' started by PAgamer07, Mar 15, 2013.

1. PAgamer07

PAgamer07 We're the ship without a storm

I thought it would be a good idea to help some of the newer players (and veterans) understand how player development works and hopefully get the most out of your prospects.

I have been playing OOTP since 2004 and have a lot of experience with the engine itself. I used to frequent the OOTP boards just as much as I do here but not any longer. The main premise has been the same throughout the various titles.

I am by no means claiming to be an expert, I am trying to help provide some guidance and knowledge for how to get the very best out of your prospects. I am sure people will disagree with my assessments, and that is perfectly fine. I also hope that others of you agree with what I am saying. So I hope this is helpful to some of you.

Part 1: Behind the Scenes

There is a lot going on "under the hood" in OOTP that although I can set variables for a lot of it, there is still randomness involved. And that is a good thing. If it was predictable, it wouldn't be a very good simulation of baseball.

[​IMG]

Above you will see our league's settings for player development and aging. I will break each of these factors down for us. And no... we aren't changing them.

Batter Aging Speed: This affects how quickly batters lose their skills as they age. The higher the setting, the quicker they will lose their skills.

Batter Development Speed: This affects how quickly batters develop their overalls and thus attempt to meet their potential ratings. The higher this is, the quicker they develop.

Pitcher Aging Speed: Same as batter Aging speed

Pitcher Development Speed: Same as Batter Development

Talent Change Randomness: This is what determines how random prospects potential changes are. The lower this is set, the more their potentials will change throughout their careers. The higher? Less.