Orange Crush: Streaming Games Q&A

Discussion in 'Thread Archive' started by BPHusker, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    I created this thread to help people who are interested in recording, streaming or editing their NCAA games. I will flesh this out when I have time this afternoon. Kasper, can you sticky this?

    This is what I use for my streaming setup.

    Capture Device
    Happaauge 1212 HD-PVR
    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.com/Hauppauge-121...X0DY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334930319&sr=8-1

    Editing Software
    Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD 11 Platinum Production Suite
    [​IMG]
    http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Vegas-St...6IPI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334930398&sr=8-1

    For a cheaper alternative, this one should be able to do HD editing.
    Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD 11
    [​IMG]

    http://www.amazon.com/Sony-Creative-Software-Vegas-Studio/dp/B005CGDAL8/ref=sr_1_1?s=software&ie=UTF8&qid=1334955340&sr=1-1


    Here is a highlight video I made of my bowl game in my first TSO season. The thing took a bit of time to cut down to fit the length of the song, but I think it turned out pretty good.

     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Kasper

    Kasper The Ghost Himself

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,536
    Good man-- stickied.
     
  3. Kasper

    Kasper The Ghost Himself

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,536
    BPHusker - so you can stream and record with the hauppauge thingy? Is it difficult to hook up at all?
     
  4. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    Kasper - Yes, you can stream and record at the same time. Pretty much what you do is you bring up the capture application, hit record, then open up the Livestream streaming application and do a screen capture of the capture application window.


    It is easy to hook up too. You just hook the 360 up to Component in on the HDPVR and then hook a component cable from the HDPVR out to your TV.

    You probably should have a computer from at least 2008-2009. My 3.33GHZ Dual Core CPU with 4GB of ram from 2008 ran it fine, but I didn't start streaming until late last year after I upgraded to a Quad Core with 8GB ram.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2012
  5. Kasper

    Kasper The Ghost Himself

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,536
    Hmm, idk my specs. But I'll look into it.
     
  6. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    If you have any questions let me know.
     
  7. Kasper

    Kasper The Ghost Himself

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,536
    You will be the first I ask.
     
  8. Ghost

    Ghost Before the rollieee!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,521
    Im getting a Happaauge when i go to College
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    If you are going to buy the Happaugge don't buy the "Gaming Edition". The only difference is the light is green and they give you a component cable and charge $40 more.
     
  10. fuzzyl0gic

    fuzzyl0gic No new friends

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,935
    BPHusker once you have everything set up, how do you stream the game to your PC? Is it wireless?
     
  11. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    fuzzyl0gic

    It hooks into your PC with USB. My computer and 360 are in the same room, so I just bought a 10 ft USB cable. It might be a probably if your computer is in a different room. I guess if you have a laptop, you should be fine.
     
  12. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    I added a link to one of the highlight videos I made...
     
  13. Ghost

    Ghost Before the rollieee!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,521
    CPU ran that read option play so well LOL
     
  14. fuzzyl0gic

    fuzzyl0gic No new friends

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,935
    Does it let you play/record in 1080?
     
  15. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    You can, but there really isn't a benefit. If you are in 1080i, it will only record in 30FPS instead of 60FPS and it will take longer to encode your final video. I stick to 720p.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. bamagrad

    bamagrad Back to Back British Amateur Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,056
  17. BPHusker

    BPHusker Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,124
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page