September 11th, 2001

Discussion in 'The Dirty Dozen' started by Full Moon Fever, Sep 11, 2011.

1. Full Moon Fever

Full Moon Fever Champion of Standards

I'll never forget that day. Ten years ago exactly, I was a freshman at Tech. I was sitting in a large room waiting for my English class to start. Some guy comes in and sits down next to me and says "Dude, have you heard? We're under attack." As he was saying that, the prof walked in and started class. I just kind of blew that guy off, thinking he was high or delusional or something. It wasn't until the end of class that the prof told us that he wanted us concentrating on his lecture, but now that class was over we all need to get to a television and watch what's going on in New York.

I remember walking back to my dorm and campus was eerily quiet. Normally there were people all over the place, yahoos pitching ideas at the Free Speech pavilion, and just a general lively college campus. There were a few people out, but you could tell right away that something wasn't right. When I got back to the dorm, there was a large crowd in the lobby huddled around the TV. The crowd was big and I couldn't see the TV, so I just went on to my friend's dorm. My roommate was already down there and the 4 of us just watched in shock.

By the time I got to a TV, both towers had already collapsed and for the most part the action was over. But we didn't know that. I remember the gut-wrenching feeling of wondering how many attacks there were going to be. Were we about to get bombed? Invaded? What the hell is happening?

I remember wanting to join the military for a few days. Fortunately, my girlfriend talked me out of that. As things somewhat cleared up over the next few days, weeks, and months, I remember just a spirit of camaraderie in the United States unlike anything I've seen before. Everybody was friendly. There were American flags everywhere. Nothing brings the country together I guess like an outside attack.