Tables

Discussion in 'Forum Issues' started by Timpegoose, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. Timpegoose

    Timpegoose Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,157
    Tables

    Is there a way to put tables side by side? I'm trying to setup tables with the conference standings for the 2 conferences in our league, and it would be easier to read if I could put them next to each other and then put information underneath.
     
  2. T2

    T2 Smarter than your average bear!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,973
  3. Timpegoose

    Timpegoose Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,157
    Yep just saw that yesterday. Thanks :)
     
  4. The Richuation

    The Richuation Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9,510
    How do you create multiple column tables? How do you separate columns?

    Column 1 Column2
    Row 1
    Row 2
     
  5. Timpegoose

    Timpegoose Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,157
    [ Table ] Column 1 | Column 2
    Row 1 | Row 1A
    Row 2 | Row 2a
    [ / Table ]

    Without the spaces in the
    Column 1
    part.
     
  6. The Richuation

    The Richuation Walk On

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9,510
     
  7. BadaBing319

    BadaBing319 OMFL Broncos / PMFL Eagles

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,409
    Hey guys, not sure if anyone would be interested, but I found a quick and easy way to copy and paste from an Excel spreadsheet to a table format here on the forums. This has saved me a ton of time with the team stats and recruiting content I do for my leagues.

    Here's an example of a table I created through this copy/paste method (took me less than 2 minutes):

    Here's how you do it:
    1. Create the table in Excel (or Google docs)
    2. Copy and paste your information from Excel into Notepad. It will take your data and separate each cell using tabs
    3. In the notepad file, highlight the empty space between any of the text and copy it (basically copying a tab)
    4. Open up the Replace tool ([accessed through the Edit menu or by pressing Ctrl+H)
    5. In the 'Find What' field, paste the tab you just copied
    6. In the 'Replace With' field, but the table marker ( | )
    7. Select 'Replace All' - this goes through and replaces all tabs with the | table divider
    8. Simply put the table tags before and after the entire thing
    9. Copy your notepad text and paste it into the forum and BANG - insta-table from Excel.

    It might be a little slow the first time you do it, but still WAY faster than trying to create it by hand. Once you get the hang of it, you'll be making any big table you want to put here in Excel first.

    Let me know if this is helpful or if there are any questions.
     
  8. Ceewo

    Ceewo Walk On

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Badabing, all of that is really not required. You can just copy and paste from excel and it works just fine. You still need the [ table ][ /table]
     
  9. Sabo

    Sabo Z2H Commish

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,763
    Column 1 Column 2
    Row 1 Row 1A
    Row 2
    TEST
    Column 1 Column 2 Column 3 Column 4 Column 5 Column 6
    Dynasty Team Year Record Overall Accomplishments
    Z2H Texas Tech 4 0-0 28-11 (Y1) (ASU) Sun Belt Champs, New Orleans Bowl Champs, (Y3) (TT) Cotton Bowl Champs
    Sim-Nation Alabama 2 5-2 9-2 (Y1) SEC Champs, Sugar Bowl Champs
     
  10. Iron Mickey

    Iron Mickey I'd take her out for some casadias

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12,445
    i think i am done with tables and have decided on a better and more efficient method
     
  11. Shaun Mason

    Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24,887
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Screaming?
     
  12. jms493

    jms493 Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,906
    why cant I edit the tables....when i go in to BB code then rich text it removes everything....wth?
     
  13. jms493

    jms493 Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,906
    these tables are fucking pissing me off. Is there any other function or way possible?
     
  14. Shaun Mason

    Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24,887
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Like I have said quite a few times...I hacked them together, but they are all we have at the moment.
     
  15. fuzzyl0gic

    fuzzyl0gic No new friends

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,935
    Column 1 Column 2
    Column 1 Column 2
    Row 1 Row 1A
    Row 2 Row 2a
     
  16. Shaun Mason

    Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24,887
    Featured Threads:
    5
    What do you guys think?
     
  17. Shaun Mason

    Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24,887
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Column 1 Column 2 Column 3
    1 2 3
    3 2 1
    1 1 1
     
  18. Gyrene76

    Gyrene76 What does the fox say?

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,319
    [​IMG]
    For real, that is great​
     
  19. Shaun Mason

    Shaun Mason Somebody you used to know.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24,887
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Test

    one two three
    1 2 3
    4 5 6
    7 8 :mad:
     
  20. PAgamer07

    PAgamer07 We're the ship without a storm

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22,921
    Ok, I changed my mind.. I liked the old format better. Sorting is a bitch when you have 1,10,11, etc in the same table..
     
  21. Masler

    Masler Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12,961
    Column 1 Column 2 Column 3
    1 2 3
    This is a test
    Column 1
     
  22. Masler

    Masler Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12,961
    1 2 3
    this is a test
    Column 1
     
  23. Masler

    Masler Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12,961
    @Shaun Mason

    What am I doing wrong? I have quoted your posts to see how you are doing it...I follow that and look what I get (above attempts).

    EDIT: Nvm. Tard moment...
     
  24. Bl0ndeRedHead

    Bl0ndeRedHead Official TSO Pothead

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,981
    hey Shaun, any way you can get it to where the tables don't automatically sort alphabetically from the first column, and instead just show up how they were originally put in?
     
  25. PAgamer07

    PAgamer07 We're the ship without a storm

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22,921
    @shaunmason

    Can we change these back?
     

Share This Page