TROJAN HORSE

Discussion in 'Thread Archive' started by Paytonno1son, Apr 19, 2011.

1. Paytonno1son

Paytonno1son Walk On

2025 Edition​

[​IMG]

Welcome to the inagural edition of the Trojan Horse, the best fan-site covering anything and everything USC. Look for recruiting updates, interviews, game breakdowns, etc. Since this is our 1st blog entry, we went straight to the source, Coach Paytonno1son, coach of our beloved Trojans.​

TH - Hello Coach, how are things?

CP1 - Things are great. We opened our season with a huge win over Michigan in our house. Although it wasn't as crisp as we'd like to see, it's a win.

TH - Sounds like you are a little disappointed, why?

CP1 - Of course I'm disappointed, I'm a coach. I knew we would struggle after we have installed a new offense. The reason for the change was to give QB Kenton Levine a better chance to thrive this season.

TH - Speaking of Levine, why did you red-shirt him as a junior?

CP1 - Kenton was/is the last of our 5* QBs. He made a ton of mistakes as a sophomore even though he was rated in the mid 90's overall. We had another SR, Harwell just sitting on the bench and performed well in the spring so the change seemed like a no brainer. As far as Levine, I knew he had the talent, he's such a pure passer.

TH - So with that said, would you say your style will be more pass heavy this season?

CP1 - I wouldn't say that so much. We love to get off the bus running. We have a stable of guys but they are young. We need the run to set up anything we are going to do in the passing game.

TH - Good. We miss the days of Micah Jordan and Greg Baker. So how would you rate your WRs?

CP1 - Man you know how to get me excited. Where do you start?! Travis King is the only 5* WR in my tenure. As you saw in the Michigan game, this kid will go over, through and around double coverage to make a play. I love this kid. Flanked by seniors, Novak & Brown, could be the best ever for my career.