YLOD

Discussion in 'Thread Archive' started by fsupenguin, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. fsupenguin

    fsupenguin Walk On

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Florida might be done. My PS3 would turn on this evening, and all information I can find tells me it is not even worth trying to get someone to fix it. Not sure when or if I can come up with the cash for a new slim one. I should know this weekend for sure, at that point I'll either have a new one, know when I'll have a new one, or just saying so long.
     
  2. Mr2Bits

    Mr2Bits 352

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3,370
    This happened to me about two months ago. It was because I hit the power switch to turn it off. Sucks man.
     
  3. fordtuff504

    fordtuff504 Walk On

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,424
    NOOOOOOO! well u kno i feel ur pain, my 60gig fatty died a few months ago and i eventually ended up buying a slim, damn man that sucks! just keep us updated coach
     
  4. bamagrad

    bamagrad Back to Back British Amateur Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,056
    its interesting how many of these are going out on different members in TF. I still have my original and has worked just fine, & I do have a backup system just in case. :thumbsup:
     
  5. fsupenguin

    fsupenguin Walk On

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Looks like I can pick up a new one a week from tomorrow, Friday. Also my current one might have just needed a cleaning, either way I am replacing it next week. Just need to learn how to transfer the data to the new one if I can. Anyone know how to do that?
     
  6. Itsnotagame

    Itsnotagame Walk On

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Simple process you just need a Ethernet cable. Does your old one still boot up? Because of you can't get to the main screen you can't transfer files.
     
  7. fsupenguin

    fsupenguin Walk On

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Here is the thing though, I am planning to trade this old on it to help pay for the new one as it looks like all it needed was some serious canned air treatment. Is there a way to transfer the data to something else in the mean time?
     
  8. bamagrad

    bamagrad Back to Back British Amateur Champion

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,056
    get yrself a portable hard drive and thast should work, I've done that recently just in case i get the dreaded YLOD.
     

Share This Page