Your Approach to the Game of Baseball

Discussion in 'The Dugout - OOTP Online League' started by sawemoff, Feb 4, 2013.

1. sawemoff

sawemoff #FearTheBeard

Going through my roster made me think of an idea for some content. What is y'alls approach to the game of baseball?

Mine has always been based on how I have played the game, scrappy. I'm all about gap power, going with the baseball, spray/line driving hitting, sacrifice bunting, being aggressive but smart on the base paths, and playing sound defense. As a coach I want the strongest part of my team to be the catcher, both middle infielders and center field (position I play so I'm biased haha).

Pitching: I look for movement/control over speed. I grew up watching one of the best rotations ever to step on the field (90s Braves). Greg Maddox and Tom Glavine were able to stay in the game as long as they did because they had control and movement. Of course you need that one guy that blows it past em, aka John Smotlz, but even he had great movement and control. I want my pitchers to go after the batter and not dance around the plate for the strikeout. I'll take ground outs and low walks over strikeouts any day.

Hitting: I want my players to make the at bats last to get the opponents pitch count up. I always tried getting the count to 3-2 every time I came up to not only help my teammates get a look (I hit leadoff) but to make the pitcher work. The one thing I hate is when a hitter pulls a pitch from the outer part the plate GO WITH THE BALL and dump it over the SS/2B's in the gap or just flicking down the line. I have never had much power (1 HR in my career) but I like seeing hard line drives.